Chemistry: Overview
An extended essay (EE) in biology provides students with an opportunity to apply a range of skills while
researching a topic of personal interest in the field of biology.
Biology is the science that deals with living organisms and life processes. A biology EE should incorporate
biological theory and emphasize the essential nature of this subject.
Requirements for a Chemistry EE
The Subject-Specific Guidance page for your chosen subject is THE KEY to ensuring your paper meets the requirements. Print, highlight, and annotate this page and pin it above your desk!
The Command Terms are the key terms and phrases used in examination questions. Using these in your essay will indicate a strong background in your subject
The Subject Reports give an overview of what EXAMINERS have said about makes a successful paper in the subject. It's smart to read these over to know what the examiners are looking for.
Sample Research Questions
Review the questions below
Chemistry Questions, scoring A or B
To what extent does the density of heptadacafluro 1 decanethiol nanostructures on a nano roughened silver surface affect it superhydrophobicity?
To what extent does the use of a Lucky Iron Fish increase the iron content of water?
How does a differing volume of hexane-1,6-diol or 1,6-hexamethylene diisocyanate impact the insulation property of Sika Boom® polyurethane foam?
Other Questions (score unknown)
Past Papers: Why Read Them?
Chemistry Papers
ChemistryViews is the online science news magazine of Chemistry Europe, an organization of 16 European chemical societies. It informs about what is happening in the global chemistry community and has a strong focus on the people behind the science. It covers new ideas, educates, and entertains.
Use ACS tools to move from in-person lab and the classroom to the computer, as working in a virtual chemistry laboratory and viewing simulations provide additional ways of learning chemistry.
Offers online 3D simulations. Creating a free account allows you to view 6 simulations.
Virtual Chemistry created, designed & maintained by final year MChem research students in the University of Oxford's Department of Chemistry.
Virtual Labs project is an initiative of Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India under the aegis of National Mission on Education through Information and Communication Technology (NMEICT). This project is a consortium activity of twelve participating institutes and IIT Delhi is coordinating institute. Under Virtual Labs project, over 100 Virtual Labs consisting of approximately 700+ web-enabled experiments were designed for remote-operation and viewing.
eduMedia's tools for interactive simulations and video in chemistry.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
The Canadian Federal Science Libraries Network (FSLN) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.
FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. Contains information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
ScienceDirect is a premier platform of peer-reviewed literature published by Elsevier. It includes publications in the fields of Physical Sciences & Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences & Humanities. While most articles are paywalled, 1.4 million articles on ScienceDirect are open access.
