Business: Overview
An extended essay (EE) in business management gives students an opportunity to carry out in-depth
research in an area of personal interest related to business management.
The EE gives students an opportunity to develop research skills by:
The EE requires the application of business management theories, tools and techniques to produce a
coherent and structured analytical essay that effectively addresses the research question.
Requirements for a Business EE
The Subject-Specific Guidance page for your chosen subject is THE KEY to ensuring your paper meets the requirements. Print, highlight, and annotate this page and pin it above your desk!
The Command Terms are the key terms and phrases used in examination questions. Use these in your essay ti indicate a strong background in your subject
The Subject Reports give an overview of what EXAMINERS have said about makes a successful paper in the subject. It's smart to read these over to know what the examiners are looking for.
Research Questions for Business
Review the questions below
Sample Questions, scoring A or B
How far could one argue that Starbucks' marketing strategies have significant roles on its success in expanding into China?
How successful is Burberry's approach to establish brand recognition through a digital platform?
To what extent can VINFAST compete in the Vietnamese automobile market?
To what extent was the acquisition of Pixar by The Walt Disney company attributed to Disney's growth?
To what extent has Apple’s brand equity led to its market leadership over Samsung in the premium smartphone market?
Research Questions from other international schools
Past Papers: Why Read Them?
Business Management Papers
Global Data and Statistics
This basic statistical resource compiles population data and other vital statistics from national statistical authorities. This information is presented as a full international data yearbook in PDF format along with tables and notes on an annual basis. Some information is also accessible as datasets.
Eurostat is the agency within the European Union that provides statistical information for the continent of Europe.
Global economic data, statistics, and country information.
Data covering more than 200 countries and country groupings. Topics include: balance of payments, interest rates, national accounts, prices, production, trade, and population.
Retrieve datapoints, compare countries, create profiles, use forms to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics on 305 countries..
Reports, data, and publications pertaining to the economic, environmental, social and other conditions in hundreds of countries.
Penn World Tables are the definitive source for real national accounts data. The national accounts for each country, initially in their own currencies, are adjusted using detailed price data to obtain real national accounts in a common currency (U.S. dollars) across countries. These data are invaluable for making comparisons of Gross Domestic Product across countries, and for all manner of research on development and growth.
This database provides detailed information about international trade.
A wide range of national and international data. Most of the time series cover long periods, with some dating back to 1948, for almost all economies of the world.
Portal to publicly-accessible data from the United Nations and IGO and NGO partners.
UN demographic data in yearbook format.
Build tables, graphs and maps. Contains latest available data and indicators, for education, literacy, science, technology and innovation, as well as culture. Also contains updated country and regional profiles, global rankings and other interactive tools.
Social indicators covering population, health, housing, education, and work in over 200 nations.
WITS software provides access to international merchandise trade, tariff and non-tariff measures (NTM) data. Browse the Country profile section to obtain countries exports, imports and tariff statistics along with relevant development data.
Formerly Doing Business series. The World Bank Group's new approach to assessing the business and investment climate in economies worldwide.
View, analyze, and download time series data for countries and country groups. Indicators include social, economic, financial, educational, and environmental topics.
The World Development Indicators is a compilation of relevant, high-quality, and internationally comparable statistics about global development and the fight against poverty. The database contains 1,400 time series indicators for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups, with data for many indicators going back more than 50 years.
Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries.
Provides essential political, economic and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Identifies changes in business risk and provides detailed analysis of a country's prospects in the short to medium term.
Directory of international import export trade leads, events, and links to 8,000 international trade (export import) related Websites.
Statistical data for 202 countries around the world, including history, economy and political conditions. globalEDGE provides tools and resources to efficiently research nearly any international business question you may have.
From the U.S. State Department. Basic background information of U.S. relations with most foreign nations.
This database provides detailed information about international trade.
Open access repository for research outputs and knowledge products, including reports and papers on economic conditions in numerous countries.
Covers daily life of cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa, including history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, and more
via Business Research Guide, Akron University
Gr 11/12 Business, Econ, ESS, Math
Log in with OIS Google
Subscription Magazines
Create a FT account with your OIS Gmail
